Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
A mobile homeowner who meet all other homestead requirements and who owns land on which the mobile home is located, may receive homestead exemption. Owners of mobile homes who live in mobile home parks or who rent or lease space are not eligible for homestead exemptions, unless they are over 62 and their income does not exceed 50% of the current years HUD median income set for the county.
Show All Answers
Homestead exemption is the reduction in the taxable value of the homestead as authorized by law. 1,000 is the maximum that can be deducted for the assessed value of a residential property. Homestead exemption is granted to the homeowner who resides in the property on a permanent basis as of January 1. The deed or other evidence of ownership must be executed on or before January 1 and filed in the County Clerk's office on or before February 1.
Applications for homestead exemption are made with the Assessor's office. The Assessor's office is also available in each town in Kay County at least one day in the month of February to receive homestead exemptions. While homestead exemption can be taken any time throughout the year, only those received before March 15 (and meeting the specified requirements) will be applied to the current year's taxes.
No. Your homestead is permanent for a long as it is your primary residence and there are no title changes to your deed. There is no reason to reapply for homestead exemption unless the deed is changed for some reason such as sale or divorce in which case, you will need to reapply. You will need to reapply for homestead exemption if you purchase a new home for use as the primary homestead. Your homestead exemption does not transfer!
Yes. Military personnel who are full-time active personnel and who own property in Oklahoma may apply for and receive homestead exemption. Military personnel should be aware that obtaining homestead exemption makes them legal residents of Oklahoma and subject to Oklahoma income tax and motor vehicle tag.
The homestead exemption of 1,000 off the assessed valuation reduces the real property tax by the amount of the millage levy effective in your area.
If you change your deed for any reason i.e. divorce, sale, change of owner, court action, or death of spouse - you must renew your homestead exemption. Contact our office if you have any questions.
Yes. There are two property tax relief programs: the additional homestead exemption and the state property tax credit or refund program.
Any person who is the head of household* with a homestead exemption may receive an additional 1,000 assessment exemption if the gross household income** from all sources did not exceed $25,000 for the past calendar year.
Application for the additional homestead exemption is made with the Assessor's office between January 1 and March 15. Verification of income is prepared as part of the application and a copy of all income verification from the previous year must accompany the application. This includes:
Please Note: Any person who is 65 or older as of March 15 and who has previously qualified for additional homestead shall not be required to renew applications annually. However, any person whose total household income exceeds $25,000 shall notify the County Assessor, and the additional homestead exemption shall not be allowed for the year.
Bring a copy of all income verification from the previous year that are usually received in January. This includes a copy of all verification for:
Both spouses are not required to sign the application, although both dates of birth and social security numbers are required. Ownership information can be located in the courthouse.
Any person 65 years of age or older or any totally disabled person, who is head of household, who was a resident of this state during the entire preceding calendar year, and who's gross household income does not exceed $10,000 is qualified for the program and may apply.
This requires that a form 538H be completed and mailed to the:
Oklahoma Tax Commission
2501 N Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73194-0009
We have this form in our office or call 405-521-3108, Oklahoma Tax Commission Income Tax Forms Section.
State Question 677 directs that homestead property value shall be frozen by the County Assessor if the following conditions exist:
The property owner must apply for the freeze at the County Assessor's office by completing the Application for Property Valuation Freeze and Additional Homestead Exemption (OTC Form 994). The form must be completed in its entirety regarding:
The application must be made between January 1 and March 15. The freeze will take effect for the taxable year in which the application is made and approve. If the application is denied, the property owner has the right to appeal to the County Board of Equalization.
Learn what to bring to the Assessor's Office and more.
Beginning January 1, 2006 each head of household who has been honorably discharged from active service in any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States or Oklahoma National Guard and who has been certified by the United States of Veteran's Affairs or its successor to have a 100% permanent disability sustained through military action or accident or resulting from disease are entitled to claim an exemption for the full amount of the fair cash value of the homestead. In order to be eligible for the exemption authorized by this section, the individual shall be required to prove residency by laws or be eligible for the homestead exemption pursuant to law.
If all the requirements for the veteran's exemption are met, a form 998 must be completed in the Assessor’s Office. The applicant must provide the County Assessor with a current, embossed U.S.D.V.A benefits award letter stating the applicant meets the specific qualifications and is receiving the full 100% compensation rate. The County Assessor is authorized to request and verify any information from the applicant or the U.S.D.V.A. they may feel is relevant.